Antichrist (2009) – A review attempt

(My first attempt to review a movie. Didn’t gave much of the plot to not spoil the story. You watch it yourself.)

Antichrist is a 2009 Danish art film written and directed by Lars von Trier, starring Willem Dafoe and Charlotte Gainsbourg. It follows horror film conventions and tells the story of a couple who, after the death of their child, retreat to a cabin in the woods where the man experiences strange visions and the woman manifests increasingly violent sexual behaviour.

I first saw the link (http://www.buzzfeed.com/louispeitzman/25-movies-that-will-destroy-your-faith-in-humanity) from a Facebook friend who shared it. Apparently, I’m looking for this kind of films. It’s been almost a month and finally I’ve got the time, energy (and courage). I watched the film at about 3am without any expectations. The first thing that shocked me was the love scene between He (Dafoe) and She (Charlotte Gainsbourg) and I told myself “This is definitely NSFW”. Moving on, the death of their child due to an accident is reason why She was in deep anxiety while her therapist husband does everything to cure her. The first 70 minutes was all about weeping, fear, and talk. I was about to doze off until the start of the brutal scenes which left me very awake until the end of the movie. The last 28 minutes will made you realize what really is evil on this film. I watched the movie in it’s entirety even up to the credits which is almost 6 minutes long. Since I’m wearing headphones and the credit’s music is as eerie as the woods mentioned in the film, those 6 minutes feels like an eternity. I actually had a big sigh of relief after. Caution: this is not for the faint-hearted. If you think that “horror” is all ghosts and monsters and “brutal” in the likeness of the movie “Saw”, think again. Wait until the truth unfolds.

This entry was posted in Films and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Antichrist (2009) – A review attempt

  1. Pingback: Antichrist | screengrabsaz

  2. Pingback: Antichrist (2009) Movie Review - The Eradicator Reviews

Leave a Reply

